Call Us: (021) 4373557
Follow Us:

Collins Supervalu

Annual Carrigaline GAA Golf Classic

Annual Carrigaline GAA Golf Classic
By Howard Crowdy
The Golf Classic is one of the club’s main fundraising events and attracts golfers from, not only the Carrigaline GAA Club, but nearby clubs, businesses and factories, making it a real community event and it has grown steadily in stature and the numbers participating each year.
John Dwane, Club Chairman, went on to thank everyone for their support at the prize giving held in the Stables Bar, paying tribute to the organising committee, who had spent many hours preparing for the event and who ensured that the teams were sent off in time, and organised the tee and green sponsors. He thanked the staff of Fota Island Golf Resort for their co-operation and assistance as well as main sponsor Stephen McCarthy of Astra Construction and club sponsor Barry Collins of Collins SuperValu.
Conditions this year were perfect, with brilliant sunshine throughout the day, which resulted in some exceptional scores being recorded with only three points separating the top ten teams.
Winners on the day were the Abtran team of Tom Holland, Paul O’Keeffe and Paul Hutchinson with 54 points with club chairman John Dwane receiving their prize on behalf of his team. A three way tie for second place was determined on the scores of the back 9 and back 6 holes, with another three teams a further point back.
Results of the 19th Carrigaline GAA Golf Classic 2016 –
54 points – Abtran – Tom Holland, Paul O’Keeffe and Paul Hutchinson
53 points – David Drake, Tom McGuinness, Johnny Cowhig
53 points – John O’Neill, Brian O’Neill, Anthony Desmond
Nearest to the Pin – John Guiney
Longest Drive – Shaun McGinley
Under Age team winners –
1) Olan Barry, Brian Kelleher, Eanna Desmond
2) James Dwyer, Matthew Field, Cian O’Donovan
3) Kieran Dwane, Sean Grey, Olin Maguire



Main Street, Carrigaline,
Co. Cork, Ireland.

Contact us

Tel: (021) 4373557

Follow us
© 2018 The Carrigdhoun Weekly. All rights reserved. | Site Design : Onevision Media.