top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Carrigdhoun Characters: Dara O'Connell

Name: Dara O’Connell, my friends call me ‘Dazard’


Occupation: Barber


About me: I’m 22 years old. I love playing football and making music. When I was playing football a few years ago, I broke my leg really badly, with loads of spare time I started writing a lot of music which I’m hoping to release soon.


Where do you live? I live in Fountainstown.



Dara O'Connell


Education: I finished the Leaving Cert in Colaiste Muire, Crosshaven in 2019. I was never one for school or tests, so I decided to do the FAI ETB Fas Course in Carrigaline. The FAS course was perfect for me, I got to play football and learn about it. Unfortunately, Covid hit, and I had to finish the course from home.


What do you love most about where you live? I love the fact that the beach is right outside my front door. The views are great, whether you’re looking at the sea or the countryside. It’s also a 45-minute bus trip to town and 10 minutes away from an active village.


What is your favourite memory about where you live? My favourite memory has to be when my Dad, Buzz organised a soccer camp up the tennis club. There was about 30/40 kids who loved it and we all just had a great time. It’s a nice to look back on something so simple made everyone’s week.


Where is your go-to spot? My go-to spot on my days off is probably Crosshaven village. I like to help out in Pipers Funfair sometimes and the pub scene is unmatched there on a sunny day.


Where is your favourite place to eat and/or drink? The Lodge in Myrtleville. It’s my favourite place for both, especially when there’s a match on, you’ll get some atmosphere!


If you could change one thing about where you live, what would it be? I would say nothing as why change perfection? But I wish we were a bit more connected to the city. Living in a small town we only get the bus every hour or so, whereas other towns have a bus every 15/20 minutes.


If you could live anywhere else in the world where would it be? I would say between Australia and Canada. But right now I’d say Canada as it’s not as far as Australia and you get snow in Winter and the heat in the Summer. A few of my friends are there at the minute, it looks amazing.



In action for Crosshaven AFC

1,293 views0 comments
bottom of page