top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Crosshaven AFC Under Age Awards & Savvy Plaque Unveiling

Crosshaven AFC Under Age Awards Writes John Duggan (PRO) On Saturday 16th July, a great crowd of young and old, gathered for the annual Kids Awards day in Camden. It was also a very special occasion as we remembered Michael “Savvy” Long, with the unveiling of a commemorative plaque in his honour, which will permanently take its place on the front wall of his beloved Clubhouse. The plaque was unveiled by his siblings – Suzy McSweeney, Sally Scott and Finbarr Long, who thanked the club for this gesture towards their late brother. A framed Ross County FC jersey with ‘Savvy 1’ embossed on it, courtesy of Cian Kingston, was presented, along with a picture from the ‘Legends’ match against a Republic of Ireland 1990 XI last year to the family. Stephen Kiely, Chairman, addressed the crowd and spoke of Savvy’s commitment to the club. “Savvy was a kind, sincere, committed person to Crosshaven AFC. He was our number one supporter on the sidelines for all teams, ladies, seniors, juniors, youths and schoolboys and girls. Savvy gave a great amount of time and effort with pride in maintaining the grounds and pitches over the years. Savvy made many friends through the club, which was evident at his funeral and again here today.” The unveiling was then followed by the underage awards and a BBQ, which was expertly done, thanks to the various volunteers. The awards were handed out to the following players with a special appreciation award also given to Seamus Murphy who stepped down as chairmen this year.

Award Winners U10 player of the year Rhys Noonan U10 team player of the year Shay Murphy U11 player of the year Brian Lucey U11 team player of the year Evan Canty U12 player of the year Niall Deane U12 team player of the year Ryan McCann U12a player of the year Ryan Murphy U12a team player of the year Dylan O’Callanan U13 player of the year Josh McCarty U13a team player of the year Patrick Cotter U15 player of the year Jack Connelly U15 players player of the year Conor Deane U16 player of the year Brian Curran U16 players player of the year Ben Donovan Best Attitude Tom O’Brien Over all schoolboys award Padraig Murphy

A special award was also given to the players who represented Crosshaven AFC by playing for various Cork Schoolboys teams through last season. u12 Niall Deane, Padraig Murphy, Liam Connelly u13 Josh McCarty, Patrick Cotter, Ethan Berkery Kelly

11 views0 comments


bottom of page