top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Carrigaline are Unlucky

Carrigaline 0-12 Nemo Rangers 1-13


(JJ Hurley)


A Nemo Ranger's 37th-minute goal proved decisive in the McCarthy Insurance Division 1 Football League in Carrigaline on Sunday.


In an excellent open game, punctuated by some fine shooting skills, the game was decided in the 37th minute, as Barry Cripps dispatched the ball to the Carrig net after Ciaran McCartan's pass.


Redemption almost arrived late in the game as Eoin Landers tested Donagh O'Leary in the Nemo net, who produced a fine save.


Having started brightly, Ronan Dalton opened the Capwell side's account on two minutes. 


The home side responded with three unanswered points, as Kevin O'Reilly, Brian Coakley, and Enna Desmond all scored.


Nemo had a goal opportunity during the same period, but Alan O'Donovan could only palm the ball wide. 


Nemo were back on level terms on nine minutes as Ross Corkery and Ciaran McCartan both landed points. 


The impressive Desmond then put daylight between the sides as he sent over a brace of points. 


However, Nemo were in no mood to concede the advantage as Corkery, Jack Cogan, and Stephen Cronin added to the visitor's tally, with the score reading six points to five after 18 minutes.


O'Reilly tied up matters as Desmond couldn't convert a half-goal chance, with Sayers firing over two points in quick succession.


Desmond, who was Carrigaline's top man over the hour, had the final say of the half as a single point separated the two sides at the interval.


34 minutes into the second half, Desmond had the sides level as Corkery added a point for the Capwell outfit, but the parity was broken with Cripps's goal.


O'Reilly's intelligent use of the mark reduced the deficit to two points, as the ever-youthful Paul Kerrigan replied with his own mark at the other end.


Nemo opened a four-point gap as the clinical Corkery landed his fourth point.


Desmond reduced the distance between the sides with a point leaving the score at 1-12 to 0-11 on 25 minutes.


Despite the home side's efforts and Desmond's final white flag of the day, the veteran Kerrigan scored the final score, as Nemo ran out winners by 1-13 to 0-12.

Carrigaline's Enna Desmond leads his teammates from the pitch on Sunday, following an unlucky defeat to Nemo Rangers.







Scorers for Carrigaline: E Desmond 0-7 (0-1f), K O'Reilly 0-3 (0-1m), B Coakley 0-1.

Nemo Rangers: R Corkery 0-5, B Cripps 1-0, P Kerrigan 0-2 (0-1m), G Sayers 0-2, R Dalton, C McCartan, J Coogan, S Cronin (0-1 each).

Carrigaline: C Dungan; L Boyle, N Quirke, D King; K Kavanagh, C O'Herlihy, J McCarthy; D Griffin, P Mellet; A Coughlan, B Coakley, E Ryall; C Barry, K O'Reilly, E Desmond.

Nemo Rangers: D O'Mahony; B Murphy, C Molloy, C McCartan; L Hogan, K Fulignati, S Cronin; A O'Donovan, B Cripps; R Coakley, C Dalton, O White; G Sayers, P Kerrigan, J Coogan.

Referee: Alan O'Connor (Ballygarvan).


249 views0 comments


bottom of page