top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Carrigaline GAA Club Honours Officers & Members

Carrigaline GAA Club Honours Officers & Members

At a reception held in the Carrigaline GAA Club recently, Tom Jones was announced as the incoming Club President, replacing Thomas Cooney who served in the office for the past three years. The evening incorporated a number of end of season presentations, including the annual GAA Hall of Fame Award sponsored by the McGrath Family, which was presented to Will Glossop. MC for the evening Alan Murphy went on to outline the incoming President’s resume, serving the club for many, many years as a player, coach and administrator and was never afraid of hard work in relation to the club. He will be a more than a suitable candidate to carry on the mantle as club President and carry on the position from the late Daithi O’Donovan and Thomas Cooney. Presentations were also made to incoming club Presidents Michael MacSuibhne and Denis Drinan, while outgoing club treasurer Christine Jenkinson was honoured for her years of service to the club while a presentation was also made to outgoing club President Thomas Cooney. A special presentation was made to former Cork footballer, All Ireland winner and All Star Nicholas Murphy who recently hung up his boots following a distinguished club and county career and who had certainly put Carrigaline on the GAA map following his inclusion to the Cork team back in 1998. He became a regular on the Cork team, solidifying his midfield position for many years with the highlight of his inter county career capturing the Sam Maguire back in 2010 and bringing the trophy back to his home club. At club level, his honours are second to none and one of his proudest moments in a Carrigaline jersey was the footballers winning the Premier Intermediate County title last year ensuring the club would play senior championship football for the first time. Finally, the Hall of Fame Award, sponsored by the McGrath Family since 1993, was presented to Will Glossop following his years of service to the Carrigaline club, which began back in 1960. Since then he played hurling and football and was a member of the team which won the SE title after 28 years back in 1974. Regarded as ‘the greatest ever player in the club’ by incoming club President Tom Jones, he was also a dual player in the Carrigdhoun senior teams and later became a selector and was involved in the double winning hurling and football teams of 1990.

31 views0 comments


bottom of page