top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Carrigaline Secure Historic Win

Carrigaline Secure Historic Win By Ciaran Dineen Carrigaline Community School secured their first Munster title in over 25 years on Friday last as they comfortably beat Limerick CBS 4-1 in the Munster U17 Cup final. Two goals in the space of one minute in the second half set up CCS to secure this historic victory, which took place in Charleville. Hundreds of Carrigaline students made the trip for the much-anticipated final and they were not disappointed by manager, Joe McSorley’s side. Nathan O’Donnell rattled home for Carrigaline’s first goal following Cork City U17 star Alec Byrne’s corner. Shortly before the half hour mark CCS doubled their lead. Kyle Murphy found Ryan O’Regan with a clever pass and O’Regan finished well, firing a low shot past Madden in the CBS goal. In the second half Ian Giltinan, also on the books at Cork City, produced a fine save for CCS as he tipped Ger Barry’s shot over the bar. Giltinan had to be replaced further on in the half after he sustained an injury as a result of another brave save. Alec Byrne put the tie beyond doubt when he tapped in for Carrigaline’s third goal of the game after he was set up by Shane Moran. Moran then got on the score sheet himself on the three-quarter mark after he found space behind the Limerick defence. Both sides finished with 10 men as Byrne was sent off for CCS and Evan Lynch for Limerick CBS. The ‘Shannonsiders’ captain, Ger Barry, did however grab a consolation for his side in the final minute of play. The day belonged to CCS though and supporters and management alike were ecstatic at full time. Carrigaline will now progress to the All-Ireland semi-finals and we here at ‘The Carrigdhoun’ would like to wish them the best of luck. Carrigaline Team: Ian Giltinan; Jack Turner, Seán Creagh, James McSweeney (capt), Nathan O’Donnell, Dan Mooney, Ryan O’Regan, Stephen Darcy, Luke Boyle, Alec Byrne, Kyle Murphy. Subs: Shane Moran for Boyle (62), Patrick McSweeney for Giltinan (64), Conor Drinan for O’Regan (70), Paul Gould for Murphy (79). Unused Subs: Stephen Sharpe, David Crotty, Kealan Conway

7 views0 comments


bottom of page