top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Carrigaline Tidy Towns Schools Art Poster Competition

Carrigaline Tidy Towns Schools Art Poster Competition Over 200 people attended the annual Carrigaline Tidy Towns Schools art poster competition awards night which was held in the Carrigaline Court Hotel during the past week, which is regarded as one of the most enjoyable and one of the main highlights of the Tidy Towns calendar of events each year. Over 60 prize winning entries from all of the national schools in Carrigaline were put up on display in the Alders Suite of the hotel, with youngsters showing just how talented they are with some exceptional posters on show all on a Tidy Towns theme. Chairman Liam O’Connor went onto welcome everyone to the annual event and went onto thank artist Ray Lonergan from St Johns Central College in Cork, who found the task of picking out class and school winners particularly difficult again such was the high standard again shown this year with hundreds of entries being received from all of the schools in the locality. Thanks were given to all of the schools, their teachers, parents and of course the pupils for their enthusiasm which was clearly shown during the prize giving. Grateful thanks were also expressed to KP Printing and to the Carrigaline Court Hotel for their support in hosting the event. A brief slideshow of the work done over the past year and recent successes of the Tidy Towns group, which included the towns first silver medal following four national Tidy Towns Bronze medals in recent years was given by the Chairman who also outlined the groups aims and projects for the coming year. Prizewinners this year were as follows – Sonas Special Junior Primary School – Orange Class – Liam Burke, Jamie Keane, Callum McColl, Eddie Murray, Warren O’Donovan, Dillon Roche Gaelscoil – Jessica Ni Chonaill, Cait Emerson, Partick O’Donnachu, Ciara Ni Ghealbhain, Sky Ni Fhicheallaigh, Caitin Ni Mheachain, Grainne Ni Chronin, Joy O’Mahony, Dearbhla Ni Mhuichu, Aaron O’hAinle, Mia Ni Rian, Peadar O’Duill, Niamh de Nais, Elizabeth Butler, Emma Ni Mhurchu St Johns Girls NS – Roisin Hengrum, Niamh Harrington, Rachel Dineen, Govorek, Siofra Barton, Aoibhe Finn, Lucy Noctor, Kate Hurley, Karolina Martyna, Emma Rooney, Gabriela Fitzgerald, Hathi Lambkin Scoil Mhuire Lourdes Boys NS – Bobby Hayes, Donal Herlihy, Jack Keane, Samuel Tivy, Tristan McCarthy, Jamie White, David Curtin and George Kavanagh, Ben Crowley, Jakub Ohusbki, Thomas Plover, Jamie Moore St Marys NS – Eva Buckley, Julie Cole, Amelia Bateman, Harry Jackson, Rachel Levis, Rebecca Meiklejohn, Anna Keyes, Hannah Holmes Carrigaline Educate Together NS – Gabriella Smite, Isabel McRae, Yahya Ahmed, Abbey McCullagh, Szymon, Neidin Fitzgibbon, Ian Nitali Gaelcolaiste – Luke Ronayne, Eimear Ni Mhaolain

29 views0 comments


bottom of page