top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Cllr Ben Dalton O’Sullivan Elected Chair of Carrigaline Municipal District

Updated: Jul 12, 2022

Writes Ciaran Dineen

Councillor Ben Dalton O’Sullivan (Ind) was this week announced as the new Chairperson of the Carrigaline Municipal District (MD) following their AGM held in County Hall.

Cllr Ben D'Alton O'Sullivan with the recently elected County Mayor, Cllr Danny Collins.

Cllr Dalton O’Sullivan was first elected to the MD in the 2019 Local Elections, where at the age of 19 became the youngest elected Councillor on the day in the country and one of the youngest in the history of the State.

Since his election in 2019, Ben has campaigned on behalf of constituents particularly in the Ballygarvan, Ballinhassig and Five Mile area, but has also kept his roots in Carrigaline where he went to school. Cllr Dalton O’Sullivan, in his three years to date as a Councillor, has become well known for getting down and dirty with the most local of issues in the community, while also collaborating with Michael Collins TD in efforts to send patients waiting for cataracts surgery to Northern Ireland for treatment. Ben is also known for securing Autism-friendly ASD Communication Boards in local playgrounds for the area.

Before being elected by colleagues in County Hall, the torch had to be passed over from the now former Chair, Councillor Marcia D’Alton (Ind), who has held the position over the past 12 months. Cllr D’Alton thanked her colleagues, Council staff and local constituents for supporting her over the period of the last year, noting that a number of successful projects had been implemented during her time in the Chair thanks to the hard work of all involved.

Cllr D’Alton nominated Cllr Dalton O’Sullivan for the position and this was seconded by former Chair, Cllr Seámus McGrath (FF). The Ballygarvan native was uncontested and duly elected. Speaking after receiving his new position, Ben said, “to say I am honoured is an understatement. I would like to sincerely thank my proposer Cllr Marcia D’Alton and seconder, Cllr Seámus McGrath. We have big projects in the pipeline for the Municipal District this coming year, and many exciting announcements of projects and funding to come. I look forward to meeting with as many community groups as possible during my term and seeing much anticipated projects finally started in our District.”

Ben will be joined by Cllr Audrey Buckley (FF), who was elected as Vice Chair for the coming 12 months.

188 views0 comments


bottom of page