top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Councillor Michael Paul Murtagh Welcomed to Carrigaline Municipal District

The newly co-opted Councillor Michael Paul Murtagh was warmly welcomed to the Carrigaline Municipal District (MD) this week at their monthly meeting.

The Crosshaven-based public representative was recently chosen by local members of Fine Gael to take the vacant seat left open on the Council following the departure of former councillor, Aidan Lombard.

Michael, or ‘Paul’ as he is often referred to locally, previously attempted to secure a seat on the Council and he ran as a third candidate for his party during the 2019 Local Elections. On that occasion, Cllr Murtagh was not successful, but has continued to work in his local area with a number of different clubs and organisations.

Pic: Cllr Murtagh recently pictured with County Mayor, Cllr Mary Linehan Foley

In his day job, Michael Paul is a full-time firefighter, working for the Cork City Fire Brigade over the past 22 years, and his ability to put out fires may prove to be useful in his new political role. It was an interesting way to commence his first official debut at the MD, doing so via Microsoft Teams like all other attendees, but with the added surprise that the meeting took place as he was about to receive his second Covid-19 vaccination.

Senior Executive Officer, Nicola Radley was the first to welcome the Fine Gael councillor to his new surroundings, indicating her and the MD’s eagerness to work and engage with him in the months and years ahead. Later in the meeting, during votes of Congratulations, Cllr Seámus McGrath congratulated Michael Paul on his successful co-option, with further acknowledgements on his arrival coming from his new colleagues.

It’s been a busy start to life as a Councillor already for Michael Paul, who recently appeared on a Primetime discussion, asking a question to his party leader and Tánaiste, Leo Varadkar. We would like to wish Cllr Murtagh all the best in this new role and look forward to seeing his contributions for the Carrigaline Local Electoral Area.

49 views0 comments


bottom of page