top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Local Success At County Mayor’s Community Awards

The 10th Annual Mayor’s Community Awards was held on Tuesday 18th of April acknowledging Outstanding contributions made by individuals and community and voluntary groups across Cork County. Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr. Danny Collins presented a total of 11 awards on the night with Barry Cogan from Carrigaline (South Cork category), winning the overall Individual award and Banteer Community Sportsfield CLG winning the overall Community Group award.

Mayor Collins warmly commended all nominees on the night for their commitment and dedication to their communities, “This is truly one of the highlights of my Mayoral term. This is a fantastic opportunity for me, for Cork County Council and for the people of Cork to show our appreciation for the hard work and compassion that goes into strengthening our communities and inspiring one another to succeed. It is truly an honour for me to be able to recognise and celebrate your achievements this evening.”

The Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr. Danny Collins with Tim Lucey, Chief Executive, Cork County Council presenting Barry Cogan with the Southern Division Overall award at the 2023 County Mayor’s Community Awards. Pic: Brian Lougheed

Winner of the Overall Individual Mayor’s Community Award, Barry Cogan is a passionate voluntary community activist, currently involved in over a dozen different community groups, many of them for several decades. His achievements are too numerous to list in full here but include chairman and co-founder of Carrigaline Men's shed, co-founder of Carraig ag Caint and Conradh na Gaeilge, and founder of Afireann na Gaeilge, a monthly Irish mass celebrated in Carrigaline which takes place on the 2nd Sunday of every month. A former Cork County Councillor, TD, and member of Seanad Éireann, Barry's vision and innovation continues to be of tremendous benefit to the Carrigaline Community.

Continued on our digital edition

31 views0 comments


bottom of page