top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Out To Vote

Out To Vote Writes Jack White With polling day on Friday February 26th fast approaching, a number of sitting TD’s and new candidates from across the political spectrum will be contesting General Election 2016 in this area, covering both the Cork South Central and Cork South West constituencies. In Cork South Central, one of the most high profile constituencies in the country, sitting TD’s Minister Simon Coveney, FF Leader Michael Martin, Michael McGrath, Jerry Buttimer and Ciaran Lynch will be battling it out with the other candidates for one of four seats, having been reduced by one seat since the 2011 General Election. Joining the sitting TD’s in the battle for a seat will be Sinn Fein’s Donnchadh O’Laoghaire, Mick Finn (IND), Lorna Bogue (Green Party), Jim O’Connell (PBPA), Ciaran Keneally (RENUA), Fiona Ryan (AAA), Diarmuid O’Cadhla (IND), Elizabeth Hourihane (IND), Michael Mohally (IND) and Joe Harris (IND) In the geographically sprawling constituency of Cork South West, candidates will battle it out for three seats. Sitting TD’s, Noel Harrington (FG), Jim Daly (FG) and Michael McCarthy (LAB), will be joined by other candidates, Margaret Murphy O’Mahony (FF), Rachel McCarthy (SF), Alan Coleman (IND), Michael Collins (IND), Fiona O’Leary (IND), Gillian Powell (IND), Johnny O’Mahony (GP), and Theresa Heaney (CD). See, or @Carrigdhounnews on twitter over the coming weeks for local coverage of General Election 2016

6 views0 comments


bottom of page