top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Raffeen Creek Golf Club News

Raffeen Creek Golf Club News Raffeen Creek Golf Club is currently achieving much success with our club teams. Our J.B. Carr team, (Panel – Jim Farrelly, Declan Owens, Don McCarthy, Con O’mahony, John O’Sullivan, Jer Tobin, Georgie Knowles, Stephen Hourihan, Mick Jordan, Denis Hurley, Pat Carroll, John Cronin Noel Beale, Sean O’Connor and J.V. Murphy) won their County Final against Fermoy and are now County Champions. Well done to all the players, and Team Manager Jim Collins, on bringing back a well deserved pennant to the Club. We have now qualified for a Muster Semi-Final against Killarney Golf Club, Killarney won the first match 4/1 on their home course, with the return match scheduled for 2pm on Thursday 14th July at Raffeen Creek. Not to be outdone, our ladies still have 2 teams in the hunt for honours. Our Challenge Cup team, (Panel – Paula Cronin, Antoinette O’Neill, Orla O’Mahony, Jo Cahill, Joy Keefe, Monica Hurley, Betty Thompson and Lorraine Kiernan) had a convincing win over Muskerry at Cork Golf Club, and now go forward to meet Ballybunion Golf Club in the Munster Semi-Final. Our Minor Cup team, (Panel – Marian O’Sullivan, Sarah Jones, Catherine Allen, Gillian Carroll, Mary Chambers, Ann Angelini, Fiona Burke and Norma O’Sullivan), had a very hard earned win over the home team at Cork Golf Club. The final match was won by Marian O’Sullivan on the 19th, having fought back brilliantly after being 5 down at one stage of the match. They now go forward to play Adare in the Munster Semi-Final. Both teams are scheduled to play their Semi-Finals at Bandon Golf Club on 23rd July. Best wishes to the teams and their Managers, Ann Crowley (Challenge Cup) and Ger O’Farrell (Minor Cup). On the home front, our Lady Captain’s (Mrs. Ger Martin), Prize was won by Fiona Burke. The runner up was Mary Chambers. Our Gents Captain’s (Mr. Niall Drievers) Prize was won by Declan Feagan. The runner up was Paddy Carroll. Congratulations to Captain Niall, Lady Captain Ger, President Declan and their respective committees on a great season to date.

44 views0 comments


bottom of page