top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Carrig take League Title

Updated: Jul 7

(JJ Hurley)

Carrigaline's footballers dispatched the king pins of Cork football, Nemo Rangers, to claim the McCarthy Insurance Group Division 1 League title at a rain drenched Shanbally on Friday night.

The Carrigdhoun outfit were full value for their victory, despite a late rally by the city side, who closed the gap to two points thanks to Gary Sayers and Alan Cronin as the teams headed down the final straight.

In truth, this game was decided in the opening minutes as Carrigaline's keeper, Sean Millett, produced a top drawer save from Nemo's veteran star Paul Kerrigan from the penalty spot.

Carrig's first score came on six minutes from their man-of-the-match Eanna Desmond, who worked tirelessly over the hour.

With scores hard to come by in the opening 1/4, Mark Cronin had Nemo in front on fourteen minutes thanks to two frees.

Not at all daunted by their opponent's pedigree, Carrigaline stepped up a gear as Desmond, Jack McCarthy and Brian Coakley had the South East side leading by four points to two on 25 minutes.

The rain now becoming a permanent fixture, Carrigaline were getting a better handle on the greasy conditions as Kevin O' Reilly fired over a brace of points, including a mark.

As the interlude beckoned, Cronin had another point to leave the score at six points to three at the break.

With conditions under foot becoming more slippery as the rain continued to pour down, both teams stuck diligently to their task as a Desmond point was cancelled out by a Cronin score.

Kevin Kavanagh also found the range, only for Alan O' Donovan to reply on 40 minutes as the score read eight to five.

Two more Desmond white flags were punctuated by Cronin keeping his side in touch, but the required goal chances to rescue this tie never really emerged as Carrig simply shut up shop in defence

Despite Nemo seeking to unhinge, their opponent's defence, they had to be satisfied with two late points as Carrigaline were left to raise the Bryan O'Loughlin Trophy for its first outing.


Scorers for Carrigaline: E Desmond 0-5 (0-3 f), K O’Reilly 0-2 (0-1 m), K Kavanagh, J McCarthy, N Coakley 0-1 each.

Nemo Rangers: M Cronin 0-5 (0-3 f), S Cronin, A O’Donovan, G Sayers 0-1 each.

CARRIGALINE: S Mellett; N Quirke, I Sheerin, D King; K Kavanagh, C O’Herlihy, J McCarthy (capt); D Greene, C Barry; A Cohalan, B Coakley, B O’Driscoll; K O’Reilly, N Coakley, E Desmond.

Subs: D Griffin for C Barry (46), N O’Keeffe for D Greene (52).

NEMO RANGERS: M Aodh Martin; E Nation, C McCartan, A Cronin; S Cronin, K Fulignati, L Horgan; A O’Donovan (capt), B Cripps; R Corkery, J Coogan, O Whyte; G Sayers, M Cronin, P Kerrigan.

Subs: C Kiely for J Coogan (h-t).

Referee: John Ryan (Macroom).

Carrigaline celebrating their league win tonight (photo Bernard McLaverty)

506 views0 comments


bottom of page