top of page
  • Writer's pictureDylan Walsh

Derby day delight for Douglas Comm in the Munster Cup

Douglas Community School claimed the FAI Schools Dr Tony O’Neill Senior Munster Cup on Monday afternoon, with a 2-1 win over local rivals St. Francis College Rochestown at Moneygourney.

A stunning strike from David Bosnjak midway through the second period of extra-time settled this

tense derby encounter.

The first half was one dominated by Rochestown, who had a number of excellent chances through Adam Cantwell and Nathan O’Connell, but the pair where repeatedly denied by goal keeper Andrew Cotter.

It was not until the second half when things really became alive. This began when Chris O’Rielly volleyed a corner from Jack Anthony into the roof of the net to give Douglas Comm a 1-0 lead. Then, a minute from the restart, referee Keith Callanan pointed to the spot after Daniel Cunningham was fouled inside the box. Up stepped Nathan O’Connell, who fired low into the bottom left hand side, to level the score.

Douglas Comm never panicked and had a fine chance from the restart when Chris O’Rielly headed just over. In the final moments of normal time, it looked like Rochestown would take the trophy home, after Nathan O’Connell burst in to face goal, but he shot wide.

The first period of extra-time was a cagey affair, with both teams well aware of what was at stake. Douglas Comm freshened their team with two subs, bringing on Josh Fitzpatrick for Brian O’Neill and Cathal Heffernan for Brandon Idah. This allowed a greater energy from the side in defence and midfield, which would prove key in the final moments.

This renewed energy was certainly felt by Andrew Cotter in the Douglas Comm goal, who made two excellent saves to deny Josh Honohan and Michael O’Rourke from point blank range.

With penalties looming, David Bosnjak nicked the ball from the centre of the pitch and darted forward, and in superb style he curled it into the top corner. This ensured wild scenes from the Douglas supporters and bench, who were ecstatic when the ball hit the net.

Rochestown dogged the Douglas defence in search of an equaliser, with Honohan running and pushing until the referee’s whistle.

Douglas Comm will now face Connaught champions Summer Hill College on Thursday afternoon in the semi finals of the FAI Schools Dr. Tony O'Neill Senior National Cup in Athlone.

Douglas Community School: Andrew Cotter, Brandon Idah, Jack Anthony, Sean Dunlea, Eoghan Nash, Brian O’Neill, Timmy O’Reilly, Oran Crowe, Chris O’Reilly, Destiny Skieters, David Bosnjak.

Subs: Josh Fitzpatrick for Brian O’Neill (90), Cathal Heffernan for Brandon Idah (106).

St Francis Rochestown: Callum Finnegan, Andrew Egan, Dylan Gregson, Daniel Cunningham, David Sloane, David Fox, Josh Honohan, Michael O’Rourke, Adam Cantwell, Nathan O’Connell, Adam Walsh.

Subs: Paul Harding for Dylan Gregson (64), Sean Cantillon for Andrew Egan (76), Tom Noonan for Adam Walsh (82).

Referee: Keith Callanan.

123 views0 comments


bottom of page