top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Kinsale Lands County Title

Kinsale Lands County Title

On Friday last, Kinsale Community School landed the County Senior B Hurling Championship, with a comprehensive victory over Ballincollig’s Colaiste Choilm at CIT’s GAA Grounds in Bishopstown, on a scoreline of 2-14 0-10.

A goal in each half certainly paved the way for what seemed like an easy victory but with lady luck abandoning the Ballincollig side in front of the Kinsale goal, the mid Cork outfit can consider themselves unlucky not to have been closer to the South County school.

While both sides hurled with a skill level that at times was straight out of the text book, Belgooly’s Luke O’Callaghan’s tally of 1-7, insured the Kinsale skipper also deservedly earned him the man of the match title.

In what was truly a fine team performance, including those who were sprung from the bench, a number of players, including Courcey Rovers’ Sean Twomey, and the Ballinhassig duo of Jack Grainger and Cian Desmond were rock solid for the hour.

With a mixture of players from Tracton, Kinsale, Sliabh Rua and Courcey Rovers, the Carrigdhoun division may have inadvertently stumbled across a nursery for future stars.

Top marks to the match official, Diarmuid Kirwan, whose sensible use of the advantage rule made for a free-flowing game

Kinsale CS: E. O’Leary (Sliabh Rua); C. McCarthy (Kinsale), C. Desmond (Ballinhassig), S. Allen (Courcey Rovers); D. Crowley (Kinsale), J. Grainger (Ballinhassig), T. O’Donovan (Sliabh Rua); S. Twomey (Courcey Rovers), G. O’Riordan (Sliabh Rua); A. O’Donovan (Courcey Rovers), R. O’Donovan Courcey Rovers), R. Long (Sliabh Rua); B. Ryan (Courcey Rovers), L. O’Callaghan (Sliabh Rua), R. Sweetnam (Courcey Rovers).

Scorers for Kinsale CS: L. O’Callaghan (1-7, 0-6 frees), A. O’Donovan (1-0), S. Twomey and R. O’Donovan (0-2 each), C. Desmond (free), B. Ryan and R. Sweetnam (0-1 each).


7 views0 comments


bottom of page