top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Passage GAA Celebrate 50th Anniversary Of Winning Junior Side

Writes Matt Aherne

Passage West GAA Club recently celebrated the 50th Anniversary of their Junior Football Team of 1969 winning the City Division Championship, thus becoming the first team from the club to win a championship since the club entered the City Division in 1952.

The celebration was enjoyed with an event in the clubhouse on November 22nd.

The Passage football team had already lost two City finals, one to St. Vincent’s in 1966 and in a replay to Nemo Rangers in 1967.

In 1969 the team beat St. Nicks, Brian Dillons and Mayfield on the way to the final against Douglas. The final ended in a draw and in the re-play the star Passage player Eddie O’Brien pointed a sideline kick from a very narrow angle to win the game for Passage.

The Passage line out in that historic game was as follows: Matt Aherne, Denis O’Connell, Tony Leahy, Sean Geary, Leo McCarthy, Paddy Buckley, Joe Murphy, Timothy O’Shea, Bernie Meade, George O’Sullivan, Eddie O’Brien, Jimmy Horan, Sean Casey, Johnny Garrett and Finbarr Gilligan. For the final Passage were missing two of their top players John Barry and Justin McCarthy through injury.

Out of a panel of 23 players on that team we are very fortunate that 19 are still surviving.

209 views0 comments
bottom of page