top of page
  • Writer's pictureOnline Journalist

Voting Gets Underway For Overall Community Spirit Awards Winner

Voting has opened for the 2022 Cork International Hotel Community Spirit Awards which will be held later this month. There are 12 monthly winners through to the final and an overall winner will be decided by an online public vote.

The Community Spirit Awards recognise the outstanding contribution made to the community by a group or an individual who volunteers their time and dedication to benefit others.

Last year’s Judges Overall Winners - Cork City Missing Persons - receiving their award at the Community Spirit Awards Gala Dinner. From left: Carmel Lonergan, Trigon Hotel Group; David Shine, David Varian, Chris O'Donovan and Emma O'Donovan, all of Cork City Missing Persons along with Eoghan Murphy and Peter Loughnane, Trigon Hotels. Pic: Brian Lougheed

The awards were launched in 2021 and the overall winner of the first ever awards was the Cork City Missing Persons group.

This year’s 12 monthly winners are:

  • The Friends of Danny Crowley

  • Aisling Claffey, Carrigaline Girl Guides

  • Carrigaline Community First Responders

  • Cork’s Everton AFC

  • Down Syndrome Centre Cork

  • John Middleton Jnr, Crosshaven GAA

  • Crosshaven Coast Guard

  • Coal Quay Family Festival

  • Save Ballymartle Woods

  • Willie Walsh, Carrigaline United AFC

  • Five Mile Bridge Community Group

  • Walty Murphy, Passage West

The overall winner will be announced at a special event at the Cork International Hotel on 25th February, 2023.

Group Director of Operations at Trigon Hotels, Carmel Lonergan said, “The response to this year’s Community Spirit Awards has been overwhelming. There are so many people working tirelessly and quietly in their communities to make life better for everyone else. They are generous with their time and effort and it is an honour for us here at the Cork International Hotel to recognise those efforts and give back to the unsung heroes of Cork.”

General Manager of the Cork International Hotel, Eoghan Murphy said, “I would like to thank the judging panel for giving their time every month to choose a winner. It was an extremely difficult decision due to the high calibre of nominations. The twelve finalists have gone to great efforts to ensure there are adequate sporting clubs for children in their communities, have raised money for charities and have provided vital services that rely on volunteers to keep going. I would also like to thank the sponsors, The Carrigdhoun Newspaper and Gerald McCarthy Giftware, whose support has made the awards possible.

The Cork International Hotel Community Spirit Awards are sponsored by The Carrigdhoun Newspaper and Gerald McCarthy Giftware. The judging panel for the Community Spirit Awards was made up of a mixture of representatives from the public and private sector within the community including Carmel Lonergan Group Director of Operations at Trigon Hotels; Nicola Radley, Cork County Council; Aisling Killilea, Bank of Ireland; Vincent O'Donovan and Jack White, The Carrigdhoun Newspaper

Online voting is now open, to cast your vote, visit:

44 views0 comments


bottom of page